USA: 2013 Shore Sailor of the Year Announced

2013 Shore Sailor of the Year Announced

The vice chief of naval operations (VCNO) announced the winner of the CNO Shore Activities Sailor of the Year (SOY) during a ceremony at the Pentagon, April 19.


Adm. Mark Ferguson announced Cryptologic Technician Collections 1st Class Patricia Madigan of Navy Information Operations Command Hawaii, as this year’s winner.

Madigan received a Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medal at the ceremony and will be meritoriously advanced to chief petty officer (CPO) later this year.

Joining Madigan as finalists were Aviation Ordnanceman Anthony Artino, commander, Task Force 67, Sigonella, Sicily; Builder 1st Class Deanna Dimeo, Naval Mobile Construction Battalion Five, Port Hueneme, Calif; Cryptologic Technician Collections James Lee, Jr., Center for Information Dominance Detachment, San Diego; and Master-at-Arms 1st Class Clinton Peterson, Commander Fleet Activities, Sasebo, Japan.

Each of the candidates received a Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medal from the VCNO during the ceremony.

“These Sailors exemplify our Navy core values,” said Ferguson. “When we look into the faces of these nominees, we see a reflection of excellence.”

Shortly after graduating from high school, Madigan reported to Recruit Training Command, Great Lakes for Basic Training. Upon completion, she reported to NTTC Corry Station for CTR “A” school. Her first tour of duty was NSGA Menwith Hill, in Harrogate England. Follow-on tours included NSGA Kunia, USS Normandy (CG 60), USS Porter (DDG 78), and Center for Information Dominance Learning Site San Diego.

Madigan said dedication and perspective are what has defined her career up to this point.

“Not every day is the best day, but every day is an incredible opportunity to serve,” said Madigan. “It is a tremendous honor to represent my command. This is a great but also humbling experience. No one gets here alone.”

“Congratulations to our nominees,” said Ferguson. “We are a better Navy because you chose to serve.”

Adm. Elmo Zumwalt initiated the Sailor of the Year program in 1972, to recognize the outstanding Atlantic and Pacific Fleet Sailors. The following year, the Shore Sailor of the Year program was introduced.

Each year, every Navy ship, station and command around the world chooses its Sailor of the Year based on leadership, professionalism dedication, and superior performance. These selectees compete against recipients from other commands competing at higher and higher echelons until the Navy’s four finest are chosen and only one selected as the CNO Shore Activities SOY.

Press Release, April 21, 2014; Image: US Navy

Related news

List of related news articles