West Australian Navy Community to Pull Little Bit of History From Ground at HMAS Stirling

The West Australian Navy community came together on the 13th July to pull a little bit of history from the ground at HMAS Stirling (Captain Brett Wolski).

The 10 July milestone marked 100 years of service under the title of Royal Australian Navy.

On 10 July 1911, His Majesty King George V granted the title of ‘Royal Australian Navy’ to the Commonwealth Naval Forces, which had been formed on Australia’s Federation on 1 March 1901.

With the assistance of the Mayor of Rockingham, Cr. Barry Sammels, CAPT Brett Wolski raised and opened a time capsule from 1986, which marked the Royal Australian Navy’s 75th anniversary, with members of the Stirling ship’s company and members of the Rockingham community present.

Commanding Officer HMAS Stirling, CAPT Brett Wolski said that it was important to celebrate these milestones.

Today is all about recognising how far the Royal Australian Navy has come since 1911, but also looking to the future and Stirling’s role in that future. These are definitely exciting times to be in Navy,” he said.

In 1986, a time capsule comprising a hollow 5 inch shell with various items enclosed was laid to rest in a vault located at the rear of the Quarterdeck onboard Stirling.

The capsule holds HMAS Stirling memorabilia from 1986, including photographs and a letter from the then Commanding Officer addressed to the 2011 Commanding Officer.

A new time capsule was prepared with memorabilia of HMAS Stirling as it is today.

Some items enclosed are photographs of ships home ported and the base in 2011, current uniform styles, newspaper clippings of the Navy, as well as a letter addressed to the Commanding Officer in 2036.

This capsule will be encased in the same vault to be opened on the occasion of the RAN’s 125th Anniversary.

The time capsule ceremony, followed by a morning tea, celebrated 100 years of the Royal Australian Navy and Stirling’s contribution to Navy’s rich history.


Source: navy, July 18, 2011;