Minister for Defence Commissions RSN’s First Archer-Class Submarine

Republic of Singapore Navy's (RSN) first Archer-class submarine, RSS Archer

Minister for Defence Dr Ng Eng Hen officiated at a ceremony to mark the commissioning of the Republic of Singapore Navy’s (RSN) first Archer-class submarine, RSS Archer, at Changi Naval Base.

During the ceremony, Dr Ng presented the commissioning warrant to Commanding Officer, RSS Archer, Lieutenant-Colonel (LTC) Jack Nyeo. Dr Ng also visited RSS Archer where he was briefed by LTC Jack Nyeo on the enhanced capabilities of RSS Archer.

Speaking at the commissioning ceremony, Dr Ng highlighted that the RSN would continue to build up and modernise its maritime warfare capabilities to better safeguard Singapore’s interest. “The strengthening of our submarine capability is in line with this overall development plan to allow the RSN to better exploit the underwater dimension in maritime operations,” said Dr Ng. He added that, RSS Archer, as the first Archer-class submarine, significantly enhances the RSN’s submarine capability and strengthens Singapore’s ability to contribute to the peace and stability of the region.

Republic of Singapore Navy's (RSN) first Archer-class submarine, RSS Archer.

The Archer-class submarines were acquired from the Royal Swedish Navy in 2005 and RSS Archer was launched on 16 June 2009 in Karlskrona, Sweden. The first Archer-class submarine arrived in Singapore on 17 August 2011 and had successfully conducted various system verifications and sea trials in local conditions as part of its operationalisation process. With the enhanced capabilities and combat system such as the Air Independent Propulsion and advanced sonar systems, the Archer-class submarines will increase the RSN’s operational readiness to better secure the seaward defence of Singapore. The pioneer crew of RSS Archer had completed comprehensive training comprising a Submarine System Training Phase, where they were taught to operate the various advanced systems, as well as a Team Training phase, where mission-oriented trainings were conducted.

Also present at the ceremony were Senior Parliamentary Secretary for Defence Dr Mohamad Maliki Bin Osman, Chief of Defence Force Lieutenant-General Neo Kian Hong, Permanent Secretary (Defence Development) Dr Tan Kim Siew, Chief Defence Scientist Quek Tong Boon, Chief of Navy Rear-Admiral Ng Chee Peng as well as senior officers from the SAF.

Naval Today Staff, December 02, 2011; Image: mindef