Congratulations to Australian Navy Safety Award Winners

Congratulations to Australian Navy Safety Award Winners

Navy’s existence revolves around placing people on ships and in one of the more demanding environments and we must have a very aggressive and proactive safety culture so that we can continue to achieve our mission of fighting and winning at sea.

The Chief of Navy VADM Ray Griggs AO, CSC, RAN was on hand in Sydney on Thursday to present awards to Navy members who have led the way on safety across the Royal Australian Navy.

The Navy Safety Awards are our way of recognising Navy personnel, ships and establishments who make a considerable contribution to Navy Safety.

CMDR Laurie Stubbs of the Fleet Regulatory Review was the recipient of the 2012 Commander Dave Allen Award for Safety Excellence. He summed up the theme of yesterday’s award presentation.

“I think the Navy is on a really good track, we’ve got a lot of work to do but the committment that we see from organisations and individuals shows the importance our people are putting on safety.”

The Chief of Navy presented the following Navy Safety Awards:

  • Award to Boatswain Faculty, HMAS Cerberus for their development of the Rigged Hull Inflatable Boat capsize and self righting simulator. Award accepted by Head of Maritime Warfare – South, Commander Mark Muir RAN.
  • Award to Training Authority – Submarines for Best Workplace Health and Safety Management System. Award accepted by Training Authority – Submarines, Commander Michael Manfield RAN.
  • Award to HMAS Warramunga for Injury or Disease Prevention and Management. Award accepted by Certification Manager – Policy, Lieutenant Commander Tom Kenny RAN.
  • Commander Dave Allen Award for Safety Excellence to Commander Lawrence Stubbs RAN.
  • Highly Commended Certificate for an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to safety in the Navy to Ms Maree Rice.
  • Certificate to Fleet Air Arm for their development of the Moulded Communication Ear Plug. Award accepted by Medical Officer HMAS Albatross Health Centre, Doctor Glen Pascoe.
  • Certificate to HMAS Anzac for their Radiation Hazard re-radiation elimination awning. Award accepted by Deputy Commander Surface Force, Captain Guy Holthouse RAN.
  • Certificate to HMAS Ballarat for their working at heights management. Award accepted by Petty Officer Communication and Information Systems John Gibson and Leading Seaman Electronics Technician David Gordon.
  • Certificate to HMAS Dechaineux for their revised preparation for sea checks. Award accepted by Executive Director Submarine Safety Program, Commander Piers Chatterton RAN.
  • Certificate to Fleet Support Unit – West for their confined space and working at heights rescue development. Award accepted by Commander Randall Peterie RAN.

Naval Today Staff,October 29, 2012; Image: Australian Navy