UK: First Sea Lord Inspects Guard of Honour, Presents Awards

First Sea Lord Inspects Guard of Honour, Presents Awards

The First Sea Lord Admiral Sir George Zambellas KCB DSC ADC paid a special visit to HMS Collingwood on Friday 12 July 2013 as the Guest of Honour at the establishment’s annual Ceremonial Divisions. In addition to inspecting the Guard of Honour the First Sea Lord presented awards and medals to worthy recipients.

Escorted by Commodore Mike Mansergh CBE Royal Navy, the Commodore of HMS Collingwood, throughout, the Admiral spoke to several members of the Guard of Honour before reviewing the Royal Marines Band Collingwood.

On completion of the review Commodore Mansergh and the Mayor of Fareham Councillor Susan Bayford presented a cheque for £8000 to Mrs Lucy Docherty of the Rainbow Centre, then the Mayor presented another cheque for £8000 to Mr Robert Robson of the Royal Navy and Royal Marines Charity, the money was raised during the successful 2013 Open Day held on 1 June 2013. Both organisations are the Mayor of Fareham’s nominated charities for the year.

During the divisions the following awards were also presented:

• Captain Farmer Memorial Prize – awarded to Lieutenant M Mifflin Royal Navy, now serving on HMS Portland, the prize is awarded annually to the PWO demonstrating outstanding achievement who, through effort, dedication and professionalism, has made the most progress whilst on course and is therefore the most improved student.

• Admiral Rutherford Memorial Trophy – awarded to Petty Officer Engineering Technician (Weapon Engineer Submarines) (POET(WESM)) Singers – the rating who, during his POET(WE) Qualifying Course, has made the most significant progress during training. For developing leadership qualities, for unselfishness and contribution to the common good and for overcoming adversity in order to achieve success.

• Armourers Prize – Leading Engineering Technician J A Pearson – for outstanding leadership and contribution during his POET(WE) Qualifying Course.

• Clasp to the Long Service and Good Conduct Medal – awarded to Petty Officer (Above Water Warfare) Chris Blake.

• Collingwood Officers Association Sword Citation – awarded to Lt Cdr Nigel Griffiths – presented annually to an Officer, below the rank of Commander, who has displayed the greatest Leadership potential during the preceding year.

• Beaufort-Wharton Testimonial Prize – awarded to Lt Francesca Crowsley – awarded to the Initial Warfare Officer (Naval College Entry) who obtained the highest marks in the year for Navigation, as well as a Small Ships Navigation.

• Junior Weapon Engineer Officer Prize – Presented to Lt David Howe, the section officer who has completed his Weapon Engineering Charge Qualification and achieved the greatest professional success from his time onboard his platform.

Representatives of a selection of organisations to which HMS Collingwood is affiliated, also attended the parade, including the Mayors of Stafford and Stone.

Press Release, July 17, 2013; Image: Royal Navy