HMCS Hunter Lowers the Flag on Hunter Building
On February 14, the ship’s company of Her Majesty’s Canadian Ship (HMCS) Hunter gathered outside the old Hunter building to lower the flag for the last time and officially close the building.
The iconic building has housed and trained sailors for the last 74 years.
The Naval Reserve Division at Windsor, Ont., was established in March 1940 and formally commissioned on November 1, 1941 as HMCS Hunter, named after a British vessel that served on the Great Lakes in the War of 1812. Since 1941 the iconic old building of HMCS Hunter has served the community of Windsor in varying capacities from community service, recruiting events, parades and training, to preparing young sailors to protect Canada.
It originally housed and trained newly enlisted sailors preparing for the duties of life on board ship during the Second World War. Sailors spent an average of three to six months in Hunter before assuming their duties on a Royal Canadian Navy (RCN) ship.
During the Battle of the Atlantic weekend this May, Hunter will commission its new state-of-the-art facility. The new building is designed for a capacity of 250 personnel.
Image: Canadian Navy