Sri Lanka: Naval Personnel Awarded Gallantry Medals

Naval Personnel Awarded Gallantry Medals

The Gallantry Medal Award Ceremony 2013 was held at the Temple Trees on 15th July 2013 under the patronage of His Excellency the President and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces Mahinda Rajapaksa.

Two minutes’ silence was observed in honour of the Service Personnel who have made the supreme sacrifice in the defence of the territorial integrity and sovereignty of the motherland at the commencement of the ceremony where “Weera Wickrama Vibushanaya” (WWV), “Rana Wickrama Padakkama” (RWP) and “Rana Sura Padakkama” (RSP) medals were conferred on 156 personnel from the tri services, Sri Lanka Army, Sri Lanka Navy and Sri Lanka Air Force.

Weera Wickrama Vibushanaya is conferred as a reward for individual acts of gallantry and conspicuous bravery of a military nature of a high order in the face of the enemy, performed voluntarily whilst on active service without regard for his own security with the objective of safeguarding thereby the lives of his comrades or facilitating the operational aim of his force or for a meritorious act or a series of acts of a human nature of high order displayed in saving life from drowning, fire and rescue operations in mines, floods and similar calamities under circumstances of bodily injury or danger to the life of the rescuer.

Rana Wickrama Padakkama is awarded as a reward for individual or associated acts of bravery in the face of the enemy and performed voluntarily.

Rana Sura Padakkama is awarded as a reward for individual acts of distinguished conduct in the face of the enemy.

Forty-five (45) personnel of the Sri Lanka Navy were awarded gallantry medals at the ceremony. Among them were twenty (20) recipients of Weera Wickrama Vibushanaya and twenty-five (25) recipients of Rana Wickrama Padakkama. Chief of Staff of the Navy, Rear Admiral Jayantha Perera was the senior most serving officer to be awarded the Rana Wickrama Padakkama. Former Navy Commander, Admiral Somathilake Dissanayaka was also awarded the Rana Wickrama Padakkama at the ceremony.

Press Release, July 17, 2013; Image: Sri Lanka Navy