INS Jalashwa Hosts Eastern Fleet Change of Command

Indian Navy’s Rear Admiral Atul Kumar Jain, VSM, Flag Officer Commanding Eastern Fleet, handed over the command of the Eastern Fleet to Rear Admiral Ajendra Bahadur Singh, VSM. The change of guard took place at a ceremony held on 7 October 14 onboard the Flag Ship INS Jalashwa.

INS Jalashwa Hosts Eastern Fleet Change of Command

Rear Admiral AB Singh is a specialist in Navigation and Aircraft direction and a graduate of National Defence Academy Khadakvasla and Defence Services Staff College, Wellington. The Admiral also holds a Masters Degree from Cranfield University, UK.

Rear Admiral AB Singh has commanded Indian Naval Ships Veer (Missile vessel), Vindhyagiri (Frigate), Trishul, (Frigate) and Viraat (Aircraft Carrier). The officer also has held various prestigious staff and operational appointments and was awarded the Vishisht Seva Medal in 2011. Prior taking over as Flag Officer Commanding Eastern Fleet, the Admiral was serving as Assistant Chief of Naval Staff (Policy & Plans) at Naval Headquarters, Delhi.

The Eastern Fleet now comprises 30 ships which include amphibious platform Jalashwa, destroyers, stealth frigates, Anti Submarine Warfare corvette Kamorta, missile corvettes, Landing Ship Tanks, offshore patrol vessels, missile boats and tankers. Rear Admiral AK Jain will now assume duties of Chief of Staff, Southern Naval Command at Kochi.

Press Release, October 08, 2014; Image: Indian Navy