US Navy commissions new littoral combat ship

The US Navy has commissioned the Independence-variant littoral combat ship USS Oakland (LCS 24) during a ceremony held in Oakland on April 17.

U.S. Navy photo by Chief Mass Communication Specialist John Pearl

This is the third ship in naval service to be named in honor of the city of Oakland. The first USS Oakland was a transport cargo ship commissioned in 1918. The second Oakland was a light cruiser that served in World War II, earning nine battle stars.

Back in June 2020, shipbuilder Austal USA delivered USS Oakland to the US Navy, from the company’s shipyard in Mobile, Alabama.

Related Article

Posted: 10 months ago

Austal: 12th Independence-class ship delivered to US Navy

  • Vessels
Posted: 10 months ago

Oakland will be homeported in San Diego with littoral combat ships USS Independence (LCS 2), USS Coronado (LCS 4), USS Jackson (LCS 6), USS Montgomery (LCS 8), USS Gabrielle Giffords (LCS 10), USS Omaha (LCS 12), USS Manchester (LCS 14), USS Tulsa (LCS 16), USS Charleston (LCS 18), USS Cincinnati (LCS 20), and USS Kansas City (LCS 22).

The littoral combat ship (LCS) is a fast, agile, mission-focused platform designed to operate in near-shore environments, while capable of open-ocean tasking. LCS can support forward presence, maritime security, sea control, and deterrence.

U.S. Navy photo by Chief Mass Communication Specialist John Pearl

Photo: US Navy